National Awards

The National Awards is a new annual event that is designed to reward all those stand out performers and contributors to the sport of Gymnastics throughout the year.

The inaugural Gymnastics Ireland National Awards will take place in the Radisson Blu, Golden Lane, Dublin 8 on November 12th 2016 at 6.30pm.

Gymnastics Ireland are happy to announce that ticket prices for the event are 45 per head and a table of 10 can be arranged also. The event is a ticketless affair and there will be a guest list on the night for registration. We look forward to welcoming you to the inaugural National Awards!
Our evening will start at 6.15pm with registration and pre dinner canapes and prosecco reception. At 7.30pm, guests will be asked to take their seats for the National Awards presentation where our 26 award winners will receive their awards. Following this, guests will be invited into the dining room area for a buffet dinner and drinks. A DJ will entertain the guests once the meal has finished. The night will come to an end at 11pm to facilitate those wishing to travel to and from the event.

Directions to the hotel can be found here. If you are driving, there is paid parking available on site and on street parking in the surrounding area is free after 7pm.
Please contact the hotel for further information on availability of rooms. For those looking to find alternative accommodation options in the area. We suggest the nearby hotels;
Brooks Hotel; Jurys Inn Christchurch;, the Aisling Hotel; O'Callaghan Hotel on St.Stephens Green; the Mespil Hotel; The Albany; and the Harrington House Hotel.
Dress Code is Smart Casual but we encourage you all to dress to impress!
Attendance is by guest list only, no tickets will be issued for this event. All guests will be assigned a table and seating plans will be available on the night at the registration.

There are 14 award categories with 10 of those awards open for public nomination.

There are also a number of Special Recognition Awards for those who have made an outstanding contribution to Gymnastics in Ireland during the year.


  • Tuesday 27th September: Award categories and nomination process information released
  • Deadline for nominations Sunday 2nd October
  • Announcement of winners by Friday 7th October
  • National Awards Evening Saturday 12th November

Awards open for nomination (use the embedded nomination form below):

Coach of the Year - Club

Unsung Hero

Competitive Club of the Year

Non-Competitive Club of the Year

Display Club of the Year

Inclusive Club of the Year

Safe Club of the Year

Club Innovation Award

Club Social & Digital Content Award

Club Governance Award


Awards made by direct appointment:

Gymnast of the Year

Rising Star

Coach of the Year - International

Young Coach of the Year – National

Special Recognition


Gymnastics Ireland will invite at it’s cost all winners, which will include in the case of individual winners two tickets (winner + 1 guest ticket) and in the case of clubs, two tickets per club. Additional tickets can then be purchased whereby, for example, a club will have the opportunity to take an additional 8/10 tickets thereby securing a full table of 10/12 persons at the evening. 

Award Winners 2016

Following a meeting by our 2016 Awards Panel, Gymnastics Ireland are pleased to announce the winners of 26 awards for the inaugural Gymnastics Ireland National Awards. The Awards Panel consisted of Ciaran Gallagher, CEO Gymnastics Ireland; Liam Harbison, CEO Paralympics Ireland and Amanda Kinahan, Gymnastics Ireland Board Member.

Open Nominations
After recieving huge interest online from the Gymnastics Ireland members for the 10 open nomination awards, a shortlist of potential award winners was finalised from the large list of nominations received. From that, the Awards Panel chose the winners in;

Club Coach of the Year; Unsung Hero; Competitive Club of the Year; Non-Competitive Club of the Year; Display Club of the Year; Inclusive Club of the Year; Safe Club of the Year, Innovative Club of the Year; Club Social & Digital Content and Club Governance. The winners are as follows:

Club Coach of the Year: Sandra O’Leary – Ballincollig Gymnastics Club
Unsung Hero: Elena Romonova – Leader Gymnastics Club
Competitive Club of the Year: Renmore Gymnastics Club
Non-Competitive Club of the Year: Carrigaline Gymnastics Club
Display Club of the Year: Wexford Gymnastics Club
Inclusive Club of the Year: Phoenix Gymnastics Club
Innovative Club of the Year: Renmore Gymnastics Club
Safe Club of the Year: Leader Gymnastics Club
Club Social & Digital Content Award: Leader Gymnastics Club
Club Governance Award: Leader Gymnastics Club

Closed Nominations
Given the high standard of nominees in some of the categories of the awards, the Awards Panel alone decided on these 4 award winners;

Gymnast of the Year; Rising Star; Coach of the Year (International); Coach of the Year (national). The winners are as follows:

Gymnast of the Year: Ellis O’Reilly – Renmore Gymnastics Club
Rising Star: Rhys McClenaghan – Rathgael Gymnastics & Tumbling Club
Coach of the Year: Luke Carson - Rathgael Gymnastics & Tumbling Club
Young Coach of the Year: Emma Hamill – Douglas Gymnastics Club

Special Recognition
Throughout the year, certain individuals involved in our sport make a special contribution and have a major impact on the development of gymnastics in this country. Gymnastics Ireland wishes to acknowledge that contribution by presenting those individuals with a Special Recognition Award. Here are the names of the 12 individuals who will recieve a Special Recognition Award for 2016:

Kieran Behan

2 x Olympian in London 2012 & Rio 2016. Ireland’s first gymnast to qualify for an Olympic Games. 2011 World Cup Floor medallist, 2015 European Games AA & Floor finalist & 2016 Rio Test Event Floor silver medallist.

Simon Gale

Personal coach to Kieran Behan. Irish coach for London 2012 & Rio 2016 in addition to multiple European & World Championships and World Cup events.

Samantha James

Personal Coach to Ellis O’Reilly & Irish coach to Rio 2016 in addition to multiple European & World Championships and World Cup events.

Mairead Kavanagh

Category 1 international Brevet Judge, Ireland’s first female judge at an Olympic Games – Rio 2016.

Denis Donoghue

Category 2 international Brevet Judge, Irelands first judge at an Olympic Games, two-time Olympic Judge – London 2012 & Rio 2016.

Colm Murray & Mary Murray

Husband and wife gymnastics commentating duo for RTE Rio 2016 coverage, Mary in Dublin RTE studio & Colm technical in Rio.

Stephen Condell & Les Culliton

Both Stephen & Les are being recognised for their key support & dedication to the development of the national events programme over the past number of years. Stephen for the development and management of the Gymnastics Ireland score system used at all competitive events & Les for his logistical support around scheduling/development of competition rotational structure for the Trampoline discipline.

Sally Batley, Kim Kensett-Friar, Michael Hughes, Kristina Rangelova

These National Performance Coaches are being recognised for their huge contribution to the new national squad systems in their respective disciplines. Working in partnership with our Performance & Technical Manager they have been responsible for restructuring and creating modern and progressive squad structures that will under pin the Gymnastics Ireland High Performance system for years to come.

Congratulations to all our awards winners. Gymnastics Ireland looks forward to welcoming all our winners to the inaugural Gymnastics Ireland National Awards on Saturday 12th November at the Radisson Blu Hotel on Golden Lane.

Further details and information on the National Awards including ticket sales will be announced next Friday October 14th.