Two Olympians and One European Medallist Receive Awards

14th November 2016, 00:00a.m. | National Awards

Inaugural Gymnastics Ireland National Awards are Presented

Dublin, 12th November 2016.  The stars came out for an amazing JLT Gymnastics Ireland National Awards.  Two-time Olympian Kieran Behan, Ireland’s first female Olympic gymnast, Ellis O’Reilly and European Junior Silver Medallist, Rhys McClenaghan were all presented with awards at the JLT Gymnastics Ireland National Awards Ceremony.

The high achievers and special contributors within the Gymnastics Ireland membership turned out in style on Saturday night for the inaugural, JLT Gymnastics Ireland National Awards.  The awards were an acknowledgement by Gymnastics Ireland of the success achieved and hard work put in by those making a special contribution throughout the year in the development of the sport in Ireland.

Over 170 guests were in attendance at the Radisson Blu Royal Hotel in Dublin, where Shane Califf, the Manager of NGBs for Sport Ireland and Keynote speaker, Liam Harbison, CEO of Paralympics Ireland were among the guests on the night.

MC on the night, Joanne Murphy, kept the guests entertained throughout and led the crowd through the awards ceremony which comprised of 26 presentations in all. The categories were wide ranging and rewarded representatives from both the competitive and participation elements of Gymnastics Ireland. They included a number of individual categories such as; Gymnast of the Year – Ellis O’Reilly; Rising Star – Rhys McClenaghan; Unsung Hero – Elena Romonova and Club categories such as; Competitive Club of the Year, Renmore Gymnastics; Display Club of the Year – Wexford Gymnastics Club. The full list of Award winners are listed below.

Speaking of the event, CEO of Gymnastics Ireland, Ciaran Gallagher thanked our sponsors and congratulated the award winners from the night.

'Our first National Awards event was a resounding success and a real celebration of our achievements in 2016.  To our headline sponsor JLT Ireland and public funding body Sport Ireland I can only say thank-you for the support, similarly the support of our other partners Profile Events, RPSD, The Castletroy Hotel, Print Depot & The Logo Shop were crucial in producing this great night. Most importantly congratulations to all the award winners, roll on 2017...'

Title sponsor JLT were represented on the night by their Partner Amanda Harton who presented awards to our two Olympians, Ellis O’Reilly and to Kieran Behan.

JLT Ireland is proud to partner with Gymnastics Ireland, bringing together two brands with passion for sport. We at JLT Ireland have the upmost admiration for Gymnastics Ireland, one of the largest and most progressive Olympic sports in the country as it continues its exciting trajectory of growth.’

Commenting on the awards night as a whole, CEO of Paralympics Ireland Liam Harbison was impressed with the show that took place.

The first Gymnastics Ireland National Awards were a fantastic representation of the vibrancy, passion and energy throughout the Gymnastics community in Ireland.  Huge congrats to the events team for a superb production.  I’m sure the foundations for an annual marquee awards event have now been set.”

Individual Awards

Gymnast of the Year: Ellis O’Reilly – Renmore Gymnastics Club Rising Star: Rhys McClenaghan – Rathgael Gymnastics & Tumbling Club Coach of the Year: Luke Carson - Rathgael Gymnastics & Tumbling Club Young Coach of the Year: Emma Hamill – Douglas Gymnastics Club

Club Coach of the Year: Sandra O’Leary – Ballincollig Gymnastics Club Unsung Hero: Elena Romonova – Leader Gymnastics Club

Club Awards Competitive Club of the Year: Renmore Gymnastics Club Non-Competitive Club of the Year: Carrigaline Gymnastics Club Display Club of the Year: Wexford Gymnastics Club Inclusive Club of the Year: Phoenix Gymnastics Club Innovative Club of the Year: Renmore Gymnastics Club Safe Club of the Year: Leader Gymnastics Club Club Social & Digital Content Award: Leader Gymnastics Club Club Governance Award: Leader Gymnastics Club

  • Special Recognition
  • Kieran Behan
  • Simon Gale & Sam James
  • Mairead Kavanagh & Denis Donoghue
  • Colm Murray & Mary Murray
  • Stephen Condell & Les Culliton
  • Sally Batley, Kim Kensett-Friar, Michael Hughes, Kristina Rangelova

Photos are on

Sign up to receive latest news from Gymnastics Ireland straight to your inbox

Cookie Settings