Gymnastics Ireland 2017 National Awards - Special Recognition Awards Winners Announced

20th October 2017, 00:00a.m. | National Awards

Irish Sport HQ, Dublin: Following a meeting by our 2017 Awards Panel, Gymnastics Ireland are pleased to announce the winners of the Special Recognition Awards for the 2017 National Awards. The Awards Panel consisted of Ciaran Gallagher, CEO Gymnastics Ireland; Andrew Coulter, Board Member and Sarah O'Connor, Head of Sport WHPR.

Open Nominations

After receiving huge interest online from the Gymnastics Ireland members for the 6 open nomination awards, a shortlist of potential award winners were finalised from the large list of nominations received. From that, the Awards Panel chose the winners in; Club Coach of the Year; Unsung Hero; Non-Competitive Club of the Year; Display Club of the Year; Inclusive Club of the Year & Innovative Club of the Year. The winners are as follows:

Coach of the Year – Club: Elisha Colgan - Athlone GC

Unsung Hero: Janet Hawkins - Coolmine GC

Non-Competitive Club of the Year: Aerials GC

Display Club of the Year: Coolmine GC

Inclusive Club of the Year: Joint award to Cork Acro & Excel GC

Club Innovation Award: Limerick GC

Closed Nominations Given the high standard of nominees in some of the categories of the awards, the Awards Panel alone decided on these 8 award winners; Competitive Club of the Year, Gymnast of the Year; Rising Star; Coach of the Year (International); Young Coach of the Year (National), Club Governance Award, Club Social & Digital Content Award & Safe Club of the Year. The winners are as follows: 

Competitive Club of the Year : Phoenix GC

Gymnast of the Year: Rhys McClenaghan - Rathgael GC

Rising Star: Meg Ryan - Douglas GC

Coach of the Year - International: Luke Carson - Rathgael GC

Young Coach of the Year : Dale Moylan - Renmore GC

Club Governance Award: Sugarloaf GC

Club Social & Digital Content Award: DP GC

Safe Club of the Year: Renmore GC


Special Recognition Awards

Throughout the year, certain individuals involved in our sport make a special contribution and have a major impact on the development of gymnastics in this country. Gymnastics Ireland wishes to acknowledge that contribution by presenting those individuals with a Special Recognition Award. Here are the names of the 9 individuals who will receive a Special Recognition Award for 2017:

-Gymnast: Andrew Smith – Douglas GC

-Event Volunteering:

  • Grainne Springael & Mary Anne Watson - Janz GC
  • Aoife Greene - Waterford GC
  • India Quinn & Hannah Sullivan - Excel GC
  • Carol Hynes - Renmore GC


  • David Conway: Former development manager & CEO for the National Sports Campus and key supporter for the inclusion of gymnastics within the NIA from the early planning and pitching days back in 2008 through to opening in 2017.
  • Jim O'Leary: Former President of Gymnastics Ireland.

Congratulations to all our awards winners. Gymnastics Ireland looks forward to welcoming all our winners to the 2017 National Awards on Saturday 18th November at the Radisson Blu Hotel on Golden Lane in Dublin. 

Further details and information on the National Awards including ticket sales will be announced shortly. 

Follow us on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, Snapchat & LinkedIn @GymnasticsIRE or by using the official hashtags in your posts #GymasticsIreland #Sportstartshere #NationalAwards

Sign up to receive latest news from Gymnastics Ireland straight to your inbox

Cookie Settings