Irish Team of 40 named to compete at European Youth Olympic Festival in Hungary

17th July 2017, 00:00a.m. | International

The Olympic Council of Ireland today announced a team of 40 to compete at the 2017 European Youth Olympic Festival (EYOF) in Gyor, Hungary from July 24th to 30th. The multi-sport event will see Irish athletes (aged 13-17) compete against the best youth athletes in Europe. The six sports represented by Ireland are Athletics, Cycling, Gymnastics, Judo, Swimming, and Tennis.  The female athletes lead the way with 25 selected to compete for their respective sport.

Gymnastics Ireland will be represented by gymnasts Emma Slevin, Jane Heffernan and Meg Ryan who join Team Ireland in this prestigious event, the first on the Olympic pathway which is designed to give potential future Olympians their first experience of a multi-sport environment.

Team Ireland has a strong heritage at these Games securing 57 medals since the inaugural Games in 1991, 37 in Athletics, 15 in Swimming and three in Football and two in Hockey. The team’s most successful Games was Tbilisi in 2015 with 10 medals secured.

After a first taste of major multi-sport competition at the EYOF, many athletes have gone on to compete in the European Games and Olympic Games.18 Irish athletes who have competed at the EYOF’s have gone onto compete at the Summer Olympic Games. Katie Taylor competed in the EYOF’s 2003 in Paris in football and then nine years later won the Gold in boxing at the 2012 London Olympics. In 2015 Taylor followed this by winning the lightweight title in Azerbaijan at the inaugural European Games.

President of the Olympic Council of Ireland, Sarah Keane said: “EYOFs are a key step in the development of  Ireland’s aspiring stars. It provides these talented young athletes with their first experience of a multi-sport event allowing them to immerse in different sporting cultures. This will be of great benefit as the move towards realising their own Olympic dreams”

The Women’s Artistic Gymnastics competition has been scheduled to take place as follows:

  • Wednesday 26th July from 10am (9am Irish Time) to 7pm.
  • Thursday 27th July from 4pm (3pm Irish Time) to 6.15pm.
  • Friday 28th July from 2pm (1pm Irish Time) to 4pm.
  • Saturday 29th July from 2pm (1pm Irish Time) to 4pm.

Information on #eyofgyor2017 start lists can be found closer to the competition on the official website.

Don’t forget to follow all the latest EYOF news!

Facebook @teamirelandoci Twitter @olympiccouncil  Instagram @olympicsirl

For live updates and photos during the gymnastics competition, remember to follow Gymnastics Ireland on social media by searching for @GymnasticsIre

Full Team Selection

Athletics (16):

  • Rhasidat Adeleke
  • Alexander Boyd
  • Molly Brown
  • Sean Carolan
  • Miriam Daly
  • Colin Doyle
  • Niamh Foley
  • Sarah Healy
  • Patience Jumbo Gula
  • Mia McCalmont
  • Joseph McEvoy
  • Ruby Millet
  • Conor Morey
  • Louis O'Loughlin
  • Ciara Sheehy
  • Jade Williams
  • Daniel  Kilgallon - Coach
  • Evelyn O'Reilly - Coach
  • Matthew Lockett - Team Leader
  • Jacqui Freyne - Team Leader

Cycling (6):

  • Shay Donley
  • Cathir Doyle
  • Maeve Gallagher
  • Lara Gillespie
  • Caoimhe O'Brien
  • Mark Smith
  • Nicola  Oldham - Coach
  • Adrian Delaney - Mechanic / Coach
  • Martin O'Loughlin - Team Leader

Gymnastics (3):

  • Jane Heffernan
  • Megan Ryan
  • Emma Slevin
  • Sally Batley - Coach
  • Sally Johnson  - Team Leader          

Judo (1):

  • Bearach Gleeson
  • Paul Green - Coach

Swimming (12):

  • Scarlett Armstrong
  • Eoin Corby
  • Mia Davison
  • Maria Godden
  • Amelia Kane
  • Julia Knox
  • Rebecca Lowe
  • Sean McNicholl
  • Ethan Murtagh
  • Cara Osing
  • Sean Scannell
  • Naomi Trait
  • John Duffy - Coach
  • Lars Humer - Coach  
  • Niamh McDonnell - Team Leader

Tennis (2):

  • Juliana Carton
  • Conor Gannon
  • Garry Cahill - Coach
  • OCI Support Team
  • Martin  Burke - Chef de Mission
  • Philip Moore -  Deputy CdM
  • Dr. Andrew Delany - Medic
  • Aidan Woods - Chief Physiotherapist
  • Eimear Hoare - Physiotherapist
  • Ciara McCallion - Physiotherapist
  • Linda O’Reilly - Games Co-ordinator
  • Eoin Noonan - Photographer


  • Mary Murray   - Gymnastics Judge

Sign up to receive latest news from Gymnastics Ireland straight to your inbox

Cookie Settings